Wk 12 – Deep Ethnography

Hi everyone and welcome back to an existing activity! As some of you may know, this weekend was the yearly Earth Day where the goal is to get as many people in the world to turn off their lights and all electricity for an hour. I personally have done this every year for probably the last 6 years or so because my mom is an environmentalist activist and because I think it’s healthy for all of us to have a day like this – at least once a year.

  1. What did you think the experience would be like? I was really excited to do this because I’ve done it before and because I was ready to have a night like this. With all the technology, television and social media that is constantly a part of my daily life, it would be nice to have a break from it all.
  2. Was it “easy” or “hard”? I would say this activity was medium. It was hard because I am so used to using electricity as a daily part of my life and I’m almost addicted to my phone. Another factor that did this hard was because I constantly need to be in touch with people, contacting them for several reasons. It was late when I did it so it was easier in that way, but I’m always with people in the dorms and it was weird being alone in my room without electricity. On the other hand, it was easy because I’ve done it before and because it was something I felt I really needed so it allowed myself to stay positive.
  3. “Frustrating” or “Liberating”? It was frustrating in the beginning, but after a while, I got used to it and really enjoyed the quiet and spiritual atmosphere.
  4. Did you get better sleep? Are you usually sleep deprived? What would it be like to sleep well every night? Yes, I did get better sleep because the entire setting made me peaceful and relaxed. It would be very nice to sleep well every night, even though that is highly unlikely that it would happen. Not because I use technology every day, but because I often go to bed late because I’m studying or doing homework.
  5. How is living without electricity more organic or harmonious with nature? I think to live without electricity was very harmonious because it allows no distractions from the outside, just you and your room. It gives you time to relax and enjoy the moment in another way.
  6. How is living without electricity more limited? Is it boring? It’s more limited because we use electricity extremely in our daily lives now. Not just with our smartphones, television, and radios, but light, music and even the fridge (very important because it stores food and drink). I wouldn’t say it’s directly boring, but because it’s so limited there are only certain times I can enjoy a situation like this.
  7. How do you think people survived without constant stimulation? I think it’s easier when you don’t know about something. Before electricity existed no one knew about it or even thought about it exactly because it didn’t exist. At that point, you need to find other ways and solutions to solve problems. Electricity is very convenient for millions of reasons, but there are always to figure out something.
  8. What would be your ideal level of life activity and connectivity? I’m personal a huge fan of technology, social media and entertainment, so my life without electricity would not be ideal nor possible. However, I don’t like being too much on social media or stop living my life because of social media addiction. I love spending time with friends and just talk – enjoying the moment and the setting around us.

-MN

Leave a Reply

