Wk 6 – Zine Book

So for this week’s activity, we were going to make Zine books or Flip Books. According to Merriam-webster, a zine is “a small magazine that is written by people who are not professional writers and that usually has stories about a particular subject”. I decided to make a zine book out of index cards and here is what I used:

  • 11 index cards 4×6
  • Staples
  • Color markers
  • My imagination

photo-mar-03-15-52-34

I decided to make my zine about quotes because I always mention quotes as a part of my life when I talk. When my friends ask me about advice or when I deal with a problem of my own, quotes are usually what I seek. I believe good quotes are important to get another’s perspective on life and understand that someone else feels that too. The quotes I chose vary from topics, but in general good life-quotes to have as a reminder in life. Most of these quotes are found in Tumblr and rest are just quotes I randomly remember because I use them a lot throughout my own life. I decided different colors for each page/quote because everyone quote has its own meaning. In addition to the quotes, I decided to illustrate something related to each quote on the next page so that one can understand the bigger picture of what the quotes or my relation to the quotes meanings are.

photo-mar-03-15-52-59

This is my first quote “everything is temporary”. Why this is one of my absolute favorite quotes is because it’s very true. Everything is temporary. The good parts in life and the bad parts in life are only temporary. When I’m having a difficult time I try to remember that this pain is only temporary and I won’t feel like this forever. On the other side, when I’m really happy and start to think about this quote, I say the same thing. This happiness is not going to last forever either. You just need to learn how to live in the moment and enjoy every second of it

photo-mar-03-15-53-30

“And now you’re just a stranger with all my secrets” is about the change that happens in relationships. One day we are best friends and lovers, the next day we are strangers. It’s weird how that happens just like that. You once shared everything with that person, looking at her/him as your mot important person in your life, and then, it’s like you don’t know each other.

photo-mar-03-15-53-39

“You don’t meet people by accident” is a very important quote because it makes you realize that everything happens for a reason. Whether it was a good or bad experience, it happened for a reason and so do the people you meet. They are often teaching you a lesson so that you can bring that with you for your journey (life).

“If you don’t get it off your chest, you’ll never be able to breathe”. We go through our life, too afraid to say what we really mean. The result of this is overthinking and that is what makes you go crazy. If you feel something, you should say it.

There are several pages in my zine, but that was some of it. I really enjoyed this project because I could be free and make what I wanted out of the zine book. I like freedom in creativity and the opportunity to express what I feel through something I like. I’m not the best drawer and I didn’t use the longest time on the drawings, but that’s my point. Life isn’t always going to be perfect or something you’re ready for. “Life is what’s happes to you while you’re busy making plans”

-MN

Leave a Reply

